Don't Let Go Cover Pic
August 14th, 2017 by diane92345

Don’t Let Go is another riveting psychological thriller by Mr. Coben!

Nap lost his twin brother, Leo, and Leo’s girlfriend, Diana, one high school night to a train collision.  The same night Nap’s girlfriend, Maura, disappeared.  When Don’t Let Go begins, it is fifteen years later. Nap is a police detective. Previously, Nap had run Maura’s fingerprints in the system but nothing was found.  Then one day Maura’s fingerprints appear at a murder scene. The homicide detective investigating the murder contacts Nap.  Additional information forces Nap to reconsider the “facts” of that night fifteen years ago.

 

Don’t Let Go was a real page turner.  I was reading this book at work, at home, at traffic signals and everywhere else.  It was that compelling.  I love twisty thrillers and Don’t Let Go has that in abundance. I have read many thrillers so usually I can see the conclusion coming.  Not in this case!  The clues were all there but cleverly concealed.  The ending was fantastic and unexpected.

 

I would recommend this book for anyone who likes a good mystery or thriller. It would be perfect for fans of John Sandford and James Patterson’s Alex Cross series. It is especially recommended to those readers who like to try to solve the mystery before the detective.  Don’t Let Go is a stand-alone thriller. Even though the author has written twenty-eight previous books and I’ve read them all as they were published, I would recommend starting with Don’t Let Go. Mr. Coben is at the top of his game and his profession. Reading Don’t Let Go first will compel you to read the others.  5 stars!

 

Thanks to the publisher, Dutton, and Netgalley for an advanced review copy of Don’t Let Go in exchange for my honest review.  This book will be published on September 26, 2017.

Posted in Diane's Favorites, Mystery & Thrillers Tagged with:

July 23rd, 2017 by diane92345

Genre-bending sci-fi mythological humorous apocalyptical romance.

Holy Crap! The World is Ending! has something for everyone. A woman meets her soulmate in a Barnes & Noble just as an asteroid is about to collide with Earth. There is something otherworldly about his looks but little does our heroine know. He is actually an alien sent to Earth to determine whether humankind can stop battling each other long enough to be moved to another planet.

Okay, the plot I just described seems lame but the book is actually fascinating and humorous. The author throws in hundreds of pop culture references (i.e., Harry Potter, Duck Dodgers, the illuminati, Bigfoot). There are many similarities between the alien names and Sumerian mythology. To say any more would be a spoiler. The romance is heartfelt and believable. The interactions between the heroine’s friends are hilarious. Which would you say is more likely to float-a raft made of Twinkies or Ding Dongs? I have to side with the Ding Dongs personally.

Even though this book is hard to categorize to recommend it for a particular type of reader, that is also its charm. I would highly recommend it to anyone bored of formulaic stories. It would also be a good choice for fans of The Simpsons for its humor and free use of decades of pop culture references. It has some R-rated sex scenes so it wouldn’t be appropriate for readers under 16.

Thanks to the publisher, Alien Abduction Press, and netgalley for an advance review copy in exchange for an honest review. This book will be published on September 21, 2017.

Posted in Diane's Favorites, Romance, Science Fiction Tagged with: , , ,

cover pic
June 30th, 2017 by diane92345

Bill may be a supercilious a88hole but he is also funny!

I was prepared to dislike this book because I’ve read many books based on Internet memes that do not translate well to a book format.  I think even Bill’s platitudes would be better one per day rather than all of them at one sitting.  However, as I decided to look for the perfect page to quote for this review, I realized I was highlighting quite a few.  I am including a quote that is both funny, true and taught me something (and probably will teach you and Pharrell something too).

 

This is Bill.

Bill doesn’t call his girlfriend “bae”.

He knows “bae” is Danish for “poop”.

Bill is smart.

Be like Bill.

 

I appreciate a book that makes me pick up my phone and google a word in the urban dictionary. This book is good for an hour or two in an airport or while on break at work.

 

I want to thank the publisher, authors and netgalley for an advanced reader copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This book will be published September 5, 2017.

Posted in Graphic Novel, Humor Tagged with: