Her Pretty Face

Her Pretty Face

A compelling psychological thriller peers into Her Pretty Face and sees a bubbling cauldron of duplicity.

Frances’ son Marcus has ADHD and oppositional defiance disorder making him difficult to control. Recently accepted to an elite middle school, an offensive act makes both him and his mother pariahs. Kate’s son Charles is in Marcus’ class. When Kate defends Marcus, she and Frances become best friends.

Frances has something unpleasant in her past. In flashbacks, the story of the rape and murder of 15-year-old Courtney is told by her 12-year-old brother DJ. Courtney’s killer Shane was assisted by his young girlfriend Amber, herself abused by Shane. Is Frances really Amber? Does Kate have ulterior motives for her friendship? Why does Kate seem distant from her 14-year-old daughter Daisy?

Her Pretty Face merges both trepidation and anticipation for what is about to happen. It is recommended for thriller readers that enjoy a intriguing character study. It’s perfect for fans of Big Little Lies, where the sophisticated surface covers up a web of deceit. 4 stars!

Thanks to the publisher, Gallery/Scout Press, and NetGalley for an advanced copy.

July 10th, 2018 by
%d bloggers like this: