Meet Me at the Museum

Meet Me at the Museum

I adore epistolary novels. I feel like I am the “fly on the wall” in the writers’ life. Meet Me at the Museum is one of the best of that style of novel that I have read.

 Tina has recently lost her best friend.  She is past 60 and thinking that her opportunity for fulfilling her life goals is fast escaping her. She decides to see the prehistoric Tollund man (a real object located in the Silkeborg Museum in Denmark) so she writes to her old pen pal who works at the museum.  Unfortunately, he has died but the current museum’s curator, Anders, responds.  Thus begins the short and romantic tale Meet Me at the Museum.

In the first letter Tina writes,

“it must have occurred to you that what you thought would happen when you were young, never did.”

Who of us over a certain age hasn’t had that feeling of regret at roads not taken? The love story and tale of second chances regardless of your circumstances is beautifully written with just the right tone. This book has many asides that discuss archeology, knitting, farming, and opera among many more subjects. But ultimately it is a fictional memoir of two strangers’ lives made closer by their impersonal method of communicating by letter. Using such a slow and detached medium allowed both Tina and Anders to talk about their true feeling without embarrassment much like Americans talk to a therapist.

I enjoyed both of their stories though they veered from sorrowful to joyful to resigned and back. It is definitely a compelling read. I stayed up past midnight and read it in one sitting.  Meet Me at the Museum is perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook. 4 stars!

Thanks to Flatiron Books and NetGalley for an advanced copy.

Advertisements
August 9th, 2018 by
%d bloggers like this: