An Unwanted Guest

A blizzard traps 9 guests, the owner and his son in this homage to And Then There Were None mixed with a bit of the Shining. The guests in An Unwanted Guest include: Gwen Delaney in corporate public relations despite having a journalism degree and Her college buddy, Riley Shuter,Continue Reading

Poppy Harmon Investigates

Poppy Harmon Investigates is great fun for fans of madcap stories like those featuring Stephanie Plum and Serge Storms! Poppy discovers soon after her husband’s death that he has gambled away their life saving and over-mortgaged the house. Poppy, a 62-year-old former C-level actress, must find some way to supportContinue Reading

Measure of Darkness

Five people are killed after a house party gets lethal in Measure of Darkness. A confrontation between neighbors kills three including one of the combatants. A six-year-old is hit in his bed from crossfire. In the ensuing uproar, another party guest is run down in the street by a panickedContinue Reading

Against the Claw

The second Lobster Shack mystery, after Curses, Boiled Again (reviewed here), is as good as the first!  Against the Claw starts with Allie pulling lobster traps with Bertha. The last trap also pulls up a dead girl. With Aunt Gully’s Lobster Shack expected to host a huge number of customersContinue Reading

Midnight Snacks are Murder

Midnight Snacks are Murder is a good humorous cozy with a wonderful setting and characters. The addition of gluten-free recipes makes this series unique. Poppy is opening a bed and breakfast with her Aunt Ginny. Her contractor, Smitty, is incompetent. Worse, her investor and former mother-in-law, Georgina, has come toContinue Reading

Ghosted

Ghosted, the word, is when a hookup quietly ignores your texts, calls, emails and other online communications. Ghosted, the book, is a wonderful twisty love story. Sarah and Eddie, both in their late 30s, spend a romantic week together after meeting unexpectedly. As Eddie is leaving for a holiday inContinue Reading

Space Between

Space Between is a good choice for fans of Gone Girl. Sarah and Ben have been married 15 years when Ben mysteriously disappears. Ben leaves behind a shiny new Glock, an erased security system and a million dollar transfer into Sarah’s bank account. Ben was scheduled to testify the followingContinue Reading

Believe Me

All actors must embody their character. Sarah, especially, is willing to do anything for her craft. Her wish is that her audience “Believe Me”. Sarah attends a method acting school in New York City. She had blown her chance at fame at home in London. Lack of resources and noContinue Reading

Disappearing

What is causing The Disappearing of blond girls in Waddell Florida is the question in this Southern neo-gothic dripping with moss and memories of the pre-Civil War lifestyle. After her husband leaves, Lane returns to her hometown in Florida with her two daughters, Annalee and Talley, to live with herContinue Reading